British Romantic Music – The Orchestra of Scottish Opera – Ayr Town Hall

Ayr Town Hall
Select a time to book
9 Feb
Price£3 to £25
Length 150 minutes

TICKETS: Premium: £25/£6/£3 | Standard: £20/£6/£3

Kate McDermott  – clarinet | Stuart Stratford  – conductor

Lush melodies, expressive harmonies, and a nostalgic, pastoral quality are at the core of this programme of British Romantic music from The Orchestra of Scottish Opera conducted by Stuart Stratford. 

Written at the height of WW2, Vaughan Williams’ Fifth Symphony is a work of wartime reflection, with moments of profound contemplation and hope. Its musical and thematic ideas would later develop in his opera ‘The Pilgrim’s Progress’. Finzi’s Clarinet Concerto is a gem of a work showcasing lyricism and delicate orchestration with the expressive clarinet solo being performed by Section Principal Kate McDermott. The concert opens with a nod to Scottish Opera’s UK premiere of Jonathan Dove’s ‘Marx in London!’ being staged in Glasgow and Edinburgh, with his Mozart-influenced ‘Out of Time’.

[Part of the 35th Ayr Concert Series arranged by Ayr Arts Guild]


You can help keep the magic of theatre alive in Ayr. Find out more about how you can get involved in the next act of The Gaiety.

Find Out More

Get Involved

The Gaiety is YOUR theatre and YOUR community so look out for opportunities to get involved!

Find Out More

Creative Engagement

The Gaiety works all year-round to support work within our communities and education.

Find Out More